Schengen visa for tourism, family or private visit, business trip

The application must be made at the Embassy of the country of your main destination, which is the country where you intend to stay the longest or the country that holds the main reason for your travel. In case the longest stay in a country cannot be determined, you will need to apply at the Embassy of the country of your first entry in the Schengen area.

Since 2011, the Schengen area consists of 26 members : Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Switzerland. Schengen visas allow their holders to enter and stay in any of these countries.

However, Schengen visas do not allow their holders to enter or stay in the French overseas territories (Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Mayotte). These destinations require a specific visa.

To prepare your documents

Important Notice

dernière modification le 26/07/2017

haut de la page